Where to Stay - South Africa

Gauteng Travel Tips and Tourist Information for the Gauteng


Gauteng Accommodation

Gauteng means place of gold, although the ‘gaut’ is also thought to originate from the Dutch ‘goud’ for gold.

Gauteng was created by the ANC in 1994 after the country’s first all-race elections and united six regions including parts of the old Transvaal province.   Gauteng stretches from Pretoria in the north, to Vereeniging in the south.

With a population of over 9 million people and a history of discovering gold; Gauteng offers a vibrant mix of diversity and is one of the wealthiest provinces in Africa.  Rapid development has swept the province in the last 10 years with new chrome structures rising overnight. The two major cities are Johannesburg and the city of Pretoria.

The region includes the discovery of a 3˝ million-year-old Australopithecus africanus in a cave near Sterkfontein, just outside Johannesburg, the city’s exciting history began only in 1886 with the discovery of gold and the Witwatersrand reef. It didn’t take long for the population of the city to explode from a few shanties into what became, and has remained the largest city in South Africa and today; Johannesburg is one of the world’s youngest major cities and the powerhouse of the African continent.

Pretoria serves as one of the country’s three capital cities, officially the executive or administrative capital - the other two are Cape Town, the legislative capital, and Bloemfontein, the judicial capital.  The city suffers from an almost menacing image as the former capital of apartheid, and is involved in an ongoing battle over changing its name to Tshwane - controversial to most inhabitants of the city, and, for the moment, left to lie ‘under consideration’. The municipality refers to it as the City of Tshwane, whilst residents still largely refer to it as Pretoria. There are many theatres, museums and monuments in Pretoria and there is access to a number of Nature Reserves.